Frequently Asked Questions: DFARS



What does DFARS stand for?

DFARS stands for "Defense Federal Acquisition Regulations Supplement."

What is DFARS?

DFARS is a well known example of an agency supplement of FAR, Federal Acquisition Regulations. DFARS is used by the Department of Defense. DFARS 252.225-7014 Preference for Domestic Specialty Metals was issued under the Office of the Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Logistics. The basic requirements of DFARS include that in order for a US company to use Specialty Metals, the metals must be melted in the United States or a qualifying country. DAR (Defense Acquistion Regulations) Council is responsible for the maintenance of DFARS.

What are the "Qualifying Countries" listed under DFARS?

A qualifying country, according to DFARS, means any country listed in subsection 225.872-1 of the Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement. The qualifying countries listed under DFARS are Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, Germany, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, and Northern Ireland.

According to DFARS, what are the "Specialty Metals?"

DFARS 252.225-7014 outlines "Specialty Metals" as:

A. Steel with a maximum alloy content exceeding one or more of the following limits: manganese, 1.65%, silicon, 0.60%, or copper, 0.60%, or containing more than 0.25% of any of the following elements: aluminum, chromium, cobalt, columbium, molybdenum, nickel, titanium, tungsten, or vanadium.

B. Metal alloys consisting of nickel, iron-nickel, and cobalt base alloys containing a total of other alloying metals except iron) in excess of 10 percent, or titanium and titanium alloys or zirconium and zirconium base alloys.

Industry Related Links


Create an Account

Save time submitting RFQs and custom cable designs. Register here.


How Can We Help You?

Get Pricing: Submit a Request for Quote
Email Us:
Call Us: 800-472-4655