You have new quote information. View My Dashboard ×
Customer #:
Ship To: {{vm.session.shipTo.lastName}} {{vm.session.shipTo.firstName}},
Change Customer/Ship To

What does DFARS stand for?

DFARS stands for the Defense Federal Acquisition Regulations Supplement.

What is DFARS?

DFARS is an agency supplement of the Federal Acquisition Regulations (FAR), used by the Department of Defense. DFARS 252.225-7014 Preference for Domestic Specialty Metals was issued under the Office of the Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Logistics. The basic requirements of DFARS are that for a US company to use Specialty Metals, the metals must be melted in the United States or a qualifying country. The DAR (Defense Acquisition Regulations) Council is responsible for the maintenance of DFARS.

What are the "Qualifying Countries" listed under DFARS?

A qualifying country, according to DFARS, means any country listed in subsection 225.872-1 of the Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement. The qualifying countries listed under DFARS are Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, Germany, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, and Northern Ireland.

According to DFARS, what are the "Specialty Metals?"

DFARS 252.225-7014 outlines "Specialty Metals" as:

  1. Steel with a maximum alloy content exceeding one or more of the following limits: 1.65% manganese, 0.60% silicon, 0.60% copper, or containing more than 0.25% of any of the following elements: aluminum, chromium, cobalt, columbium, molybdenum, nickel, titanium, tungsten, or vanadium.
  2. Metal alloys consisting of nickel, iron-nickel, and cobalt-based alloys containing a total of other alloying metals (except iron) over 10 percent, or titanium and titanium alloys or zirconium and zirconium base alloys.