You have new quote information. View My Dashboard ×
Customer #:
Ship To: {{vm.session.shipTo.lastName}} {{vm.session.shipTo.firstName}},
Change Customer/Ship To
coaxial cable classifications

The 4 Main Classifications of Coaxial Cable

Coaxial cables are data cables used to send radio frequency signals. They are available in a wide variety of constructions and with a wide range of specifications. However, there is one form of classification that is mostly used: the amount of resistance a cable may have.

This resistance is measured in ohms. Ohms are the unit used to measure the electrical resistance between two points of a conductor. Coaxial cables most commonly have either 50, 60, 75, or 93 ohms. Each of these measurements provides coaxial cables with different features.

As seen in the graphic above, 50 ohms and 70 ohms coaxial cables are the most commonly used today. The telecommunication industry uses these cables in a variety of applications. The type of coaxial cable used depends largely on each individual application. Since there is a diverse variety of coaxial cables, knowing the amount of resistance needed can narrow the product pool.

If you need a coaxial cable in your next application but aren't sure where to begin, these articles can help make your decision easier: